Trial VIIIs 2010

Unfortunately, due to the treacherous driving conditions it was unsafe to travel to Henley for the annual Trial VIIIs race. Despite trying to relocate to Ely the river was frozen solid, preventing any racing.

However, making the most of the situation, several ergo relays were held in Cambridge. In a closely fought competition, the two Trial VIIIs crews of “Cut” and “Thrust” raced over 8000m, 4000m and 2400m. Each race was decided by just seconds, but the overall winners were “Cut”.

The squad now hopes to put in some solid training over the Christmas period before heading out for training camp in France in early January.

The 2010 Trial VIIIs crews were as follows:


Simon Smart
Chris Kerr
Tim Daines
Sam Hayes
Sam Blackwell
Olli Lupton
Rupert Price
James Warren

Emily Hopkinson (Cox)


Henry Huges
Allen Pope
Jonathan Fuhrmann
Finn Grimwood
Piran Tedbury
John Hale
Chris Bellamy
Charlie Adams
Katie Phillips (Cox)