On 1 August 2020, the three separate rowing clubs of the university – Cambridge University Boat Club, Cambridge University Women’s Boat Club, and Cambridge University Lightweight Rowing Club – became one new club for all men and women, openweight and lightweight, who represent Cambridge and race against Oxford. 

The history of the events explains why there were separate clubs. The Cambridge University Boat Club was founded in 1828. It issued a challenge in early 1829 to Oxford University to row a boat race and the first Boat Race was duly held that year. The first women’s Boat Race was almost 100 years later, after which CUWBC was formed. A new club, CULRC, was founded in 1974 to provide a lightweight men’s crew to race Oxford. When a lightweight women’s event was established in 1984, the new squad of lightweight women joined CUWBC. 

As one club, all resources are shared equally. Our ambition and our focus is unchanged: to beat Oxford on the Tideway. All the crews race over the same Championship Course, following the move of the openweight women in 2015 and the lightweight men and women in 2019.

Banyoles 2020


Cambridge University Boat Club and The CUBC Foundation are companies limited by guarantee and each has charitable status.

The operation and running of the CUBC is overseen by the RMB, the Rowing Management Board, which comprises the board of directors of the CUBC established in accordance with the CUBC’s articles of association, available here. The articles provide for the annual election of three members of the student leadership team to become members of the RMB (and directors of the company, CUBC). The same student leaders are also directors of The CUBC Foundation and members of the board of The CUBC Foundation, known as the Council.

In addition to the three student members, each of the RMB and the Council have a Vice-Chancellor’s Nominee as a (non-voting) member. The first Vice-Chancellor’s Nominee is Roger Mosey, the Master of Selwyn College and former Head of BBC News and Director of BBC Sport.

Rowing and Management Board

  • RMB Chair – Simon Harris (Blue Boat 1982, 83)
  • Club Chair – Annamarie Phelps (Blondie 1987)
  • Treasurer – Stephen Wyborn
  • Senior Members – Dr. Morag Hunter (Blondie 1992, Blue Boat 1993) and Dr. Judith Bunbury (Senior Tutor, St. Edmund’s College)
  • Safety Adviser – Anthony Reynolds (Blue Boat 1984)
  • Vice-Chancellor’s Nominee – Roger Mosey (The Master of Selwyn)

  • Co-opted members:
  • Rob Baker (Chief Coach, Men)
  • Dr. Judith Bunbury (Senior Tutor, St. Edmund’s College)
  • Siobhan Cassidy (Blue Boat 1995)
  • Dr Morag Hunter (Blondie 1992, Blue Boat 1993)
  • Fiona McAnena (Lwt. 1985)
  • Roger Mosey (The Master of Selwyn) 
  • George Nash (Goldie 2009, Blue Boat 2010, 11, 13)
  • Toby Parnell (Lwt 2009)
  • Brian Potterill (Lwt 1988, 89)
  • Patrick Ryan (Chief Coach, Women)
  • Fay Sandford (Blue Boat 2011, 12, 13)
  • Student Directors as for The CUBC Foundation
  • CUBC Foundation Council
  • Foundation Chair – Nicholas Bliss (Goldie 1981, Blue Boat 1982)
  • CUBC Chair – Annamarie Phelps (Blondie 1987)
  • Treasurer – Tom Amies (Goldie 1991)
  • Senior Member – Prof Paul Luzio

  • Life members:
  • Mark Horton (Blue Boat 1977, 78)
  • Dr Kate Panter (Blue Boat 1982, 83, 84)
  • Paul Withers (Goldie 1978)

  • Student directors: 
  • Club Secretary – Cameron Spiers (21-22 season)
  • Openweight Women’s President – Caoimhe Dempsey (21-22 season)
  • Openweight Men’s President – Oliver Boyne (21-22 season)
Sprint eights at Ely