Crews Announced for CUWBC Trial VIIIs

CUWBC Trial VIII’s will take place on Thursday 10th December at 11:05 Putney.

Trial Eights is an opportunity to practice a full Boat Races course.  The BNY Mellon Boat Races will take place on Sunday March 27th 2016.

Chief Coach Rob Baker will be looking to give this intense rowing experience to the athletes whilst assessing who handles the pressure of the side-by-side duel well.  The squad is split in two, creating two evenly matched crews being coached by Patrick Ryan and Nick Acock. The athletes will be looking to perform well and make a claim for a seat in the Blue Boat.

This year the crews have been named after two very special sporting venues – The Tideway and Twickenham.  CUWBC President Hannah Roberts says

‘The women’s Oxford and Cambridge Rugby Varsity is taking place at Twickenham, on the same stage as the men for the first time tomorrow and since we will be racing and unable to go and watch them, we wanted to show our support, particularly to Caroline Reid, last year’s CUWBC President who will be playing. This, along with our first race on the Tideway represents a landmark year in Oxbridge women’s sport that we wanted to celebrate in our names.’



Kate Baker (Homerton), Evelyn Boettcher (Magdalene) Rachel Elwood (Gonville and Caius), Alice Jackson (Homerton), Lucy Pike (Trinity Hall), Alexandra Wood (Newnham), Thea Zabell (Downing), , Daphne Martschenko (Magdalene) Cox Olivia Godwin (Trinity)


Dorrottya Nagy (Churchill), Imogen Grant, (Trinity), Ashton Brown(Fitzwilliam), Sarah Carlotti (Churchill), Hannah Roberts (Jesus), Fiona Macklin (St. John’s), Caroline Habjan (Homerton), Myriam Goudet (Lucy Cavendish),  Cox Rosemary Ostfeld(Hughes Hall)