CUBC Alumni race at Head of the Charles

Last weekend, CUBC members from across the generations descended on Boston for the 57th edition of The Head of the Charles Regatta. HOCR is the world’s largest 3-day rowing event and the 4.8km course along the Charles River provides exciting and competitive racing for the 11,000 athletes and 40,000 spectators. 

This year’s event saw some stand out performances from Cambridge alumni taking home silverware across multiple events. On Friday, 1991 Blue Boat teammates, Guy Pooley and David Gillard, partnered to win the Men’s Senior Master Double by 23 seconds for Crabtree. This was followed on Saturday by Florian Herbst (Goldie 2014) winning the Men’s Senior Master Fours in Molesey colours and Kate Horvat (Blue 2019) taking the win in Women’s Championship Double for Arion. Podium finishes were also recorded by 2022 Lightweight Brigid Kennedy with a strong 2nd place in Women’s Lightweight Singles and Tom Middleton (Lwt 1996) and Matthew Brittin (Blue 1987-89) finishing 3rd in the Molesey Senior Master Eight. Nate Kirk (Blue 2004, Goldie 2003) and Rob Hurn (Blue 2018) also finished 3rd in a Yale Alumni Eight. 

It was fantastic to see many CUBC members spanning the decades racing for a variety of alumni and masters crews. In the Parent/Child Doubles, Matthew Parish (Blue 1995-96) paired with daughter Honor to finish 11th, Honor was one of the youngest competitors in the event and with two older brother Blues, she must be one to watch for the future! Daphne Martschenko (Blue 2015-16, Blondie 2018) led the Rowing in Color crew in Women’s Club Eights, continuing to work to improve diversity in our sport. Hopefully the 2023 edition sees even more CUBC members dig out old lycras and pick up oars to participate in this festival of rowing.

Men’s Senior Master Double

1st – Guy Pooley (B ’88, ’89, ’90, ’91), David Gillard (B ’91, ’92, ’93) – Crabtree

Men’s Senior Master Fours

1st – Florian Herbst (G ’14) – Molesey 

Women’s Championship Double

1st – Kate Horvat (B ’19) – Arion

Women’s Lightweight Single

2nd – Brigid Kennedy (Lwt ‘22) – Narragansett

Men’s Senior Master Eights

3rd – Tom Middleton (Lwt ’96), Matthew Brittin (B ’87, ’88, ’89) – Molesey

Men’s Master Eights

4th – Rod Chisholm (Lwt ’95), Matthew Parish (B ’94, ’95), Sean Gorvy (G ’86, ’87), Stephen Peel (B ’85, ’86, ’87) – Crabtree

Women’s Championship Single

10th – Abigail Parker (Bl ’19, B ’21) – Cambridge Boat Club

Men’s Master Fours

10th – Graham Smith (B ’98, ’99) – Tyrian

Men’s Master/Grand Master Single

10th – Alastair Adam (G 91, 92) – Union Boat Club

Women’s Master Eights

11th – Katie Baker (née Cowton) (Lwt ’94) – Thames

Women’s Senior Master Eights

21st – Annamarie Phelps (Bl ’87) – Lea

Directors’ Challenge Parent/Child Doubles

11th – Matthew Parish (B ’94, ’95), Honor Parish – Crabtree (Cambridge Alumni)

Women’s Club Eights

31st – Daphne Martschenko (B ’15, ’16, Bl ’18) – Rowing in Colour

Men’s Alumni Eights

3rd – Nate Kirk (B ’04, G ’03) Rob Hurn (B ’18) – Old Dog Boat Club (Yale Alumni)

31st – Andy Stewart (Lwt ’92), Jamie Riley (Lwt ’92) – Downing College 

Women’s Alumnae Eights

6th – Emily Erdos (G ’20) – Fat Cat Rowing Club (Princeton Alumnae)

7th – Ida Jacobsen (B ’19)– USC Alumnae

11th – Hannah Roberts (B ’16, Bl ’14, ’15)– Tyrian (ULBC Alumnae)

14th – Olivia Coffey (B ’18) – Radcliffe Alumnae