Light Blue Crews announced for BUCS

Cambridge 2nd May 2019. Cambridge University Lightweight Rowing Club (CULRC) has announced its crews for the British Universities & Colleges Sport (BUCS) Regatta, which will be held at the National Water Sports Centre in Nottingham this weekend.

CULRC will field five crews to race against crews from over 70 other Universities in the largest student regatta in Europe. The crews will range from Championship (three entries) and  Intermediate (two entries) with intermediate crews featuring some rowers who have learned to row this year with their College boat clubs and who are now part of the Development Squad who are aiming to trial for the 2020 Boat Races.

Coach Astrid added “It is fantastic to take eight committed college rowers up to Nottingham for BUCS – racing in an 8+ will be fun and it will give them and their cox a first taste of what it means to be part of our programme.” Each day begins with a Time Trial over 1500m with side-by-side racing over 2000m following based on those results.

The crews selected for this year’s regatta are as follows:

Intermediate 8+ James Chapman (Magdalene) Sam Clarke (Magdalene) James Crossley (Churchill) Robert Perry (Pembroke) Eryk Sokolowski (Fitzwilliam) Matt Edge (St. Catherine’s) Peter Howle (Jesus) Tom Sharpe (Pembroke) James Sinclair (Peterhouse)   Championship Lwt 4- Matt Webb (Robinson) Daumantas Kavolis (Peterhouse) Teague Smith (Girton) Peter Taylor (Downing) Intermediate Lwt 1x Tom Roe (Emmanuel)  
Championship Lwt 8+ Tom Roe (Emmanuel) Jonathan Sachin Vibhishanan (Pembroke) Samuel Armstrong (Robinson) Daumantas Kavolis (Peterhouse) Matt Webb (Robinson) Jonathan Markanday (Queens’) Teague Smith (Girton) Peter Taylor (Downing) Dylan Whitaker (King’s)    
Championship Lwt 2-    
Samuel Armstrong (Robinson) Jonathan Sachin Vibhishanan (Pembroke)      


For further information, please contact: Dick Millard, Club Coordinator: [email protected]