CULRC & CUWBC crews take to the Tideway for Fours Head 2019

Fours Head of the River  – Saturday 23rd November 2019

Ten crews will be representing Cambridge University Lightweight Rowing Club (CULRC) and Cambridge University Women’s Boat Club (CUWBC) at the Fours Head of the River Race in London this weekend.  

CULRC (racing as Granta) and CUWBC have crews with 20 of 31 Cambridge Colleges represented. Many of the new generation of Light Blue rowers joined the club straight from their College Boat Club, having learned to row as as undergraduates in their college boat clubs. 

For some members of the team this will be their first race representing Cambridge University as part of the Light Blue team.

The Fours Head is the biggest event in the UK at this time of the season and will give the whole team an opportunity to race the very best crews from around the world.

CULRC President Teague Smith is looking forward to the weekend with his team,

“CULRC is excited to be sending three boats to Four’s Head this weekend. This will be the first test of our speed and hard work against Oxford and the rest of the country and the squad is looking forward to stepping up to the mark.”

The race takes place from Mortlake to Putney, the reverse of the Championship Boat Race course and will see 489 crews racing including Universities, Clubs, Schools and International crews. Racing will begin at 12:45pm.  Conditions are predicted to be difficult with cold winds and a fast stream, the team are well prepared to give their best performance 

CUWBC President Larkin Sayre says,

“The CUWBC squad are looking forward to our first major race on the Tideway. We love this course and can’t wait to show our speed alongside great crews from all over the UK (and world!)”

Crews for the weekend

W Academic 4+140W Academic 4+146
Adriana Perez-RotondoNewnham CollegeOlivia AlliottJesus College
Rebecca SmithNewnham CollegeFlorence AlexanderSidney-Sussex College
Abigail ParkerEmmanuel CollegeCatherine WalkerCaius College
Caoimhe DempseyNewnham CollegeUlrika AnderssonQueens’ College
Dylan Whitaker (Cox)King’s CollegeAngela Harper (cox)Churchill College
W Academic 4-134Op Academic 4-50
Larkin SayreEmmanuel CollegeLuke AndrewsCaius College
Patricia SmithChrist’s CollegeSamuel ArmstrongRobinson College
Sophie PaineWolfson CollegeEdmund CokeWolfson College
Laura FosterQueens’ CollegeJames LeeHomerton College
W Academic 4-319Op Academic 4+273
Morgan MorrisonHomerton CollegeEryk SokoloskiFitzwilliam College
Lea BalthussenLucy Cavendish CollegeEytan CortissosPeterhouse College
Victoria WalkerCaius CollegeDaumantas KavolisPeterhouse College
Miranda ClementsHughes HallTeague SmithGirton College

Jamie Bailey (Cox) St John’s College
W Academic 4+142W Academic 4-139
Gloria JansenLucy CavendishBronya SykesCaius College
Emma PikeEmmanuel CollegeRebecca DellChrist’s College
Catherine KingCaius CollegeEva SimkinsClare College
Laura StewartPembroke CollegeSarah PortsmouthNewnham College
Sabrina Singh (Cox)Emmanuel College

Op Academic 4+274W Academic 4+144
Matthew EdgeSt Catherine’sGemma KingSt John’s College
James CrossleyChurchill CollegeAnna HarrisonWolfson College
Jack ReidGirton CollegeEmily McHargNewnham College
Ben WoodEmmanuel CollegeJoanna MatthewsSt John’s College
Josh KershawSt John’s CollegeEmily Insanally (Cox) Fitzwilliam

For more information about the race go to

75th Women’s Boat Race and 45th Lightweight Men’s Boat Races in 2020

For more information about The Boat races go to

For more information about The Lightweight Boat Races go to